How AFSPA Works

AFSPA is managed by an Executive Committee and a part-time Executive Director. The Executive Committee contains one representative from each state in which Friendly Society Pharmacies operate and the members are elected annually at the AGM. The current Executive Committee members are:

Working with the Pharmacy Guild


Since 2009, AFSPA has had a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Pharmacy Guild. The Guild is recognised by government as the official negotiating body for community pharmacies in Australia and the MOU demonstrates AFSPA’s support for the Guild’s commitment to obtain the best possible outcomes for all community pharmacies.

The agreement also enables AFSPA members to access a range of Guild resources and professional programs that benefit both business and professional development.

Representation in the Mutual Sector


AFSPA is a member of the Business Council of Cooperatives and Mutuals (BCCM), the national peak body representing the co-operative and mutual models of enterprise. It is the only organisation uniting the entire and diverse range of member owned businesses.

Formed in 2013, the BCCM is a powerful and informed voice in the business community. Led by the chief executives of Australia’s co-operative and mutual businesses, the BCCM brings together the sector of businesses owned by members or formed to benefit members, with the common objective of increasing awareness of these models of enterprise.

With an estimated 1700 co-operative and mutual businesses operating nationally representing a total of 14.8 million memberships, the BCCM through its members, highlights the contribution co-operatives and mutuals make to the national economy and social development in Australia.